I'm watching. You're watching. Let's talk.

Lost Untangled is Lost unraveling

In midseason 2009, television, tv on 02/05/2009 at 9:58 pm

I’m not saying I know what the freak is going on in Lost, although I do love the story structure of the time-space travelling. It not only economically covers a lot of ground but has incredible suspense. Will it be the next time that we meet … Jacob? What will be the ramifications of Jin interacting with a young pregnant Danielle, piled on top of Daniel having urged Desmond to find his mother a couple of weeks back? And how heartbreaking was it to see Sawyer watch Kate help Claire deliver her baby, Aaron?

I love all this, although I love it in an “I’m not sure I understand it all means but but I’m glad we met and thank goodness we didn’t have children” kind of way. What? Oh wait. What I meant to write was that a storyteller’s job is to keep you spellbound and that Lost is doing. Logic is for later. Or never. Or for the weekend after I’ve had a couple of espressi (Look how Italian I can be!).

But neither logic nor understanding will be found by watching Lost Untangled. At first, I wondered what the jiggling action figures were up to as I fast-forwarded through ads in Life on Mars. Then I watched the full vid online. Action figures? This is Lost for idiots and idiots are so not on Lost’s horizon. ABC, just settle down and stop being so greedy for ratings.

But then here’s James Hibberd of The Live Feed saying he’s charmed by it all. So what do I know? What do you think?

— Denise Duguay

Leave a Reply

